Message from the President (Sp16)

Back to contents

Steven Pritzker

Welcome to the first edition of our newsletter – be sure to save a copy since it may be a valuable collector’s item. This newsletter is part of several new initiatives which include an updated website. We’ve formed a committee working on a conference for Division 10 which will take place separately from the APA convention at a different time of year.  We will keep you advised as plans move along.

Our division is in very good shape. Our membership has grown over the last few years, in part because of our offer of one year of free membership to new members. One of our goals is to improve the retention rate so we hope all of you, especially our first year members, renew and continue to enjoy connecting with scholars with the same interests. Our membership chair, Magdelana Grohman provides additional details in her membership update.

Membership includes a free subscription to our outstanding journal, Psychology of Aesthetics, Creativity and The Arts had a fantastic year. As editors Roni Reiter-Palmon and Pablo Tinio reported last summer, the Impact Factor rose to 3.054 (from 1.787 the previous year), and the journal now ranks 17th out of 83 journals in the Psychology/Experimental category (up from 41 out of 84). In 2014, articles were downloaded from 58 countries outside of the United States.  The editors also reported a nice rise in submissions — there were 87 in 2012, 109 in 2013, 161 in 2014, and 169 in 2015. Last year, Marcos Nadal and Thalia Goldstein were appointed as Associate Journal Editors.


A number of Division 10 members are featured in the new Creativity in the Classroom video. This was prepared with support from APA’s Coalition for Psychology in Schools and Education. This video is designed to help K-12th grade teachers since they are not receiving any training about creativity in most schools of education. Hopefully it will be used in psychology classes, teacher education classes and professional development environments. If you know any teachers or administrators, please spread the word.

We have many members who are contributing their considerable skills to help us grow and change.  I’d like to take this opportunity to thank them.


Paul J. Silvia President-Elect and Programming Chair,
Heather Snyder Treasurer
Jen Katz-Buonincontro Secretary, Programming Chair, and Newsletter Co-Editor
James C Kaufman, Past President
Scott B. Kaufman Member-at-large
Danny Wedding Member-at-large
Pamela J. McCrory Member-at-large
Alexander S. McKay Student/APAGS Rep
Paul Snowden International Representative
Richard Hass Webmaster and Newsletter Editor
Annabel J Cohen Council Representative
Pablo L. Tinio Journal Editor and Representative to the Coalition for Psychology in Schools and Education
Ronie Reiter-Palmon Journal Editor
Marcos Nadal Associate Journal Editor
Thalia Goldstein Associate Journal Editor
Oshin Vartanian Chair, Awards Committee
Pablo P. L. Tinio and Diana Rivera Co-Chairs, Education Committee
Magdalena Grohman Chair, Membership Committee
Sandra Russ Chair, Fellows Committee
Paul J. Silvia Chair Publications and Website Committee.
Pablo P. L. Tinio Representative to the APA Coalition for Psychology in the Schools and Education


Elections for President-Elect, Council Representative and International Representative coming up this year. If you’d like to run, send an e-mail so by March 24th. If you’d like to get involved in a committee for 2016-17, just let me know.

We hope this newsletter will help connect our members. We want to hear what you are doing that is of interest to our members. Since we are committed to creativity, we are open to any ideas on how we can make our newsletter more dynamic and relevant.